Movies on the Block: My favorite thing about living in Providence

This is easily one of the coolest things ever. Every Thursday night, every summer, a great movie is played downtown FOR FREE! For folks who live in and around Providence this isn’t really news (though to some it might be and for that, you’re welcome) but honestly i just want to gush about it. Movies on the Block holds a special place in my heart, which will become pretty obvious once my book comes out and you all get a chance to read it.

There are two kinds of ways that I love to watch a movie. One is in total silence in a dark, totally decked out movie theater. Nice seats, awesome sound and perfect picture. This is a scenario where the slightest peep makes blood vessels pop in my eyes and the thought of punching a little kid who dares to ask “What’s happening?” in the first five minutes isn’t that outlandish. The second way is surrounded by people who clearly love movies, especially the one that’s playing, regardless of the setting. Movies on the Block gives me that. People are their because there’s something extra magical about a movie under the stars. They’re also there because they know the movie inside and out. You can feel the energy when you see a classic with a bunch of people who have loved it for years and regardless of all the chatter, traffic noise and the uncomfortable wooden benches, you feel like you’re experiencing something special.

This is Movies on the Block’s third week this season and sadly I haven’t seen one yet. It’s rained every Thursday so far, and the movies (King Kong–1939 and The Hudsucker Proxy) have been delayed to the following evening which, for one reason or another, I’ve been otherwise occupied on. Tonight they;re showing The Maltese Falcon, one of four movies this season I’m embarrassed to admit I haven’t seen. Here’s hoping the rain holds off. Maybe I’ll see some of you there.

For more cool stuff happening around Providence, click here: http://www.shopdowncity.com

One response to “Movies on the Block: My favorite thing about living in Providence

  1. Pfft maybe me. That’s badass!

Leave a Reply

